The part of Euroradio Jazz Orchestra 2017

Every year, the Euroradio Jazz Producers put together a European jazz big band under the name of the Euroradio Jazz Orchestra (EJO), a project that can trace its roots back to 1965. Each EBU Member may send one musician under age 30 to perform in public with the EJO, with two Euroradio Public Jazz Concerts organized by the host broadcaster. One concert is always recorded by the EBU host broadcaster, who is responsible for the rehearsals as well as its logistical and promotional planning. 

The EJO concerts are being organized this year at the kind initiative of Radio France, thanks to the efforts of the Jazz Producers' Chair, Hugo Sekoranja, and of Alex Dutilh from Radio France. The music director is the young French trumpeter, composer and arranger Airelle Besson (pictured). 

This year's line-up is now complete as follows: 

Allan Järve, trumpet/flugelhorn (Estonia) 
Sigurd Evensen, trombone (Norway) 
Corentin Billet, horn (France) 
Quentin Coppalle, flute (France) 
Vincent Pongracz, clarinet (Austria) 
Maria Dybbroe, alto saxophone, bass clarinet (Denmark) 
Helena Kay, tenor saxophone (UK) 
Dimitri Howald, guitar (Switzerland) 
Kristina Barta, piano (Czech Republic) 
Vid Jamnik, vibes, marimba, xylophone (Slovenia) 
Kaisa Mäensivu, bass, bass guitar (Finland) 
Cornelia Nilsson, drums (Sweden) 
Alba Nacinovich, vocals (Croatia) 
Airelle Besson, conductor, composer, trumpet (France) 

Performance dates/venues: 
Saturday, 11 November, Radio France, Paris 
Sunday, 12 November, Coutances (Normandy) 
Monday, 13 November, Festival Djazz, Nevers 
Tuesday, 14 November, Festival Jazzdor, Strasbourg

Leave a comment

    Add comment